6 Days of Nothin’

Sorry it’s been 6 days without a fresh post. It’s amazing how much the final week of the TV season will take out of you!

Actually, spent the past 2 days in Ohio visiting friends and family. Gotta tell ya…It’s been 19 months since we moved from Dayton (the “Paris” of the midwest). We moved for a couple of reasons, some personal and some church related (another story for another time). We were like the pioneers of the old west…the two of us, 2 large dogs, a cat and all the possessions we could fit in a 91 Caprice Classic, and headed west to Vegas. I remember that day well. It was cold. Raining. We were broke (not much has changed since then!). And we had so much stuff in the car, I couldn’t even see Shannon next to me in the passenger seat (no kidding!). And it felt like a relief to leave a town that wore me down for 39 years, a town with a collapsing economy and seemingly more bad memories than good.

But today, on the ride back from Dayton to Louisville, I realized one thing: I have always been surrounded by great people. Friends, family…everyone! The ways that the lives of these people, that I have known for 10, 20 and 30 years plus, are unfolding are incredible! And I love listening and watching every minute of it. It is amazing how a 2 1/2 hour drive can be so refreshing, relaxing and affirming. To me, a valuable lesson…it’s not the place, but the people. Louisville’s also a great place, but the people we are meeting are even greater. I have always had the itch to become a writer, but I could only dream of writing the stuff I see in front of me!

The Biography channel has a motto: “Every life has a story.” Well, I am thankful for the stories I have learned up until now, and I can’t wait for the stories I’m about to learn.

I realize this posting is a little more self-indulgent than usual, but in the words of my beautiful wife Shannon: “Deal with it!”