The Stuff of Character

Flashback 30 years….

“Son, I know it’s high noon and 99 degrees. I know it’s a push mower, and the yard hasn’t been cut for three weeks. But, it needs to be done…and, it’ll build character.”

Why…oh why…is it that when there’s something you have to do that really, really sucks, it allegedly “builds character?”

The only reason I’m having this flashback to my innocuous, if not painful, childhood (it was only painful because the bullies wouldn’t stop beating me sensless when I refused to stop speaking in Klingon) is because of this past weekend.

It’s funny how a totally unrelated event can bring an old feeling to the surface.

As I watched my good friend Ross lament at the impending loss of his Oklahoma Sooners, one phrase popped to mind. I wanted to look Ross in the eye as he suffered through the humiliation of having potential championship dreams dashed to pieces and say,”Ross, it’ll be okay. At least it will build character.”

That was it. At that very instant in time, I had become my Dad.

I actually realized the power of that simple statement :”It’ll build character.” It’s only 3 (or 4) words, but it carries an awesome reponsibility. Never have 3 or 4 words meant so much.

To the man who says it, it means “Hah! Now you are as miserable as I!”

To the man who hears it, it means: “Where’s the nearest noose.”

Well, I was able to break that cycle before it even began. I will not become one of the countless millions of 70’s era men that have tossed that statement around with careless abandon. No, I will be a thoughtful friend, and lament with my fellow sportsfans and human beings.

In the meantime, I’m going to finish watching the Bengals on Monday Night Football. It’s brutal. But, hey…at least it builds character.