Why…?

As I compete furiously for a Star Trek-based contest, one glaring question pops into my head: Why does liking Star Trek make me a nerd?
For as long as I can remember, I could carry on a normal conversation with someone, including the ladies, and be somewhat captivating. Then, if I would let out with a reference to the greatest television show ever…Star Trek…the same thing would always happen: The other person would give a subtle eye roll, a slight smirk, and claim that they just remembered they had something else they had to do. This was okay…except for the times I was in the middle of a date!
Why can you be a Patriots or Yankees fan, a fan of any of the new Pop music stars, a fan of a great historical figure, or a fan of a brand of ice cream….and never be considered a social outcast. But, just quote Captain Picard once, or translate one piece of important literature into Klingon, and you are now a social outcast! Why?!?
Well, I need to go. There’s a three day Trekkie marathon starting and my Romulan popcorn is done.

1 Comment

  1. hi!
    My name is Alice, i writing from Italy, Piedmont, Turin.
    i found your blog, and if you want, i study English translate your post and write with you..
    Bye Bye
    Alice


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment