It’ll Come Back…

In high school, one of my favorite people was our football coach/health teacher, Coach Spoerl. Coach would wear ties that were wider than his body (remember, this was the early 80’s). His reply to our muffled laughs was always the same: “I bought my ties in the 50’s, and every 8 or 9 years they keep comin’ back in style. Never throw anything away…they always come back.”

I generally don’t get rid of clothes. I’d like to say it’s due to Coach’s sage advice…however, I’m sure it’s do more to my cheapness. There are many times when my entire outfit on any given day was bought for $20 or less…including shoes! (Much to the chagrin of Jamey).

Flash forward 25 years. I’m sitting in a movie theater yesterday, watching the new movie Transformers. It was cool! Action, things gettin’ blowed up, pretty women, and some laughs. it had it all! Then, as if i was in the flashback sequence of a Kung Fu episode, I heard my menor from the past say, “Don’t throw things away…they always come back!”

Man! He was right! I was watching Transformer shows 25 years ago! All things do go round! That this movie is as popular as it is tells me several things: 1) People love retro, 2) I grew up in the coolest era in history, 3) Cars that turn into robots and destroy stuff are awesome!

There is one drawback to everything coming back: Three’s Company The Movie.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment